Waiting for spring bite

While plenty of waterfowl and other types of birds fly north daily, anglers are anxiously waiting for fish. Pier fishermen have enjoyed catching scattered dogfish and skate nearly all winter, but up and down the Outer Banks, most folks can’t wait for the spring bite.

For the past two years, that came in the form of hickory shad first, then northern puffers. After these two harbingers of spring show up, they are typically followed by bluefish, trout and drum. So keep your fingers crossed and rod ready.

On April 3, the Pier switches to its spring hours of 6 a.m. to midnight.

Celebrate Earth Day with a twist!

Earth Fair OBX IV promises plenty of free fun for everyone on Saturday, April 18 from 1 to 4 p.m. A wide variety of community groups will be on hand sharing their own environmental messages. Children are encouraged to visit these educational booths with “passports” in hand.

Once they’ve made the rounds and validated their passports at a minimum of eight stations, they’re awarded a free Earth Fair OBX IV T-shirt. If desired, they can tie-dye the white shirt, which features a unique raindrop logo by Brett Harrison of Wicked Oceans.

In addition, take a chance at winning a number of giveaways including up-cycled bird house kits, rain barrels and gift certificates from area business. This year’s Earth Fair OBX IV was made possible by grants from the Outer Banks Community Foundation and N.C. Coastal Federation. The Pier’s event is also part of the N.C. Science Festival.

 

Special Events for 2015

Saturday, April 18 from 1 to 4 p.m. — Earth Fair OBX – Keeping the OBX Clean and Green
Thursday, April 30 to Monday, May 04, all day – Mid-Atlantic Regionals Eastern Surfing Association
Saturday, May 2 from 5:30 to 11:30 a.m. — Runcations Duathlon
Saturday, May 16 and Sunday, May 17, all day – Soccer in the Sand tournament
Saturday, May 30 at 8 a.m. – Extreme Volleyball Professionals tournament
Saturday, June 6 at 7 a.m. – Fifth Annual Family Fishing Tournament
Sunday, June 14 at 7 a.m. – Storm the Beach endurance obstacle course
Wednesday, June 17 at 7:30 a.m. — Runcations Sunrise 5K running race and Crab Crawl
Wednesday, June 17 at 7 a.m. — Fritz Boyden Memorial Youth Fishing Tournament
Wednesday, June 24 at 6:30 p.m. — Runcations Sunset 5K running race
Saturday & Sunday, June 27-28, all day, — Atlantic Surfing Association Surf Contest
Sunday, July 26, all day — Grom Surf Event
Saturday & Sunday, Aug. 1-2, all day — Surf Ironman Contest
Saturday & Sunday, Aug. 8-9, all day — Atlantic Surfing Association Surf Contest
Thursday & Friday, Aug. 13-14, all day — Rip Curl Surf Contest
Saturday, Aug. 15, all day — Surfing for Autism
Tuesday, Aug. 25 to Sunday, Aug. 30, all day – WRV Outer Banks Pro surf contest
Sunday, Sept. 20 to Saturday, Sept. 26, all day – Eastern Championships Eastern Surfing Association
Saturday, Oct. 3, at 7 a.m. – Fifth Annual Red Drum Tournament

Angler’s Club Campaign


The Angler’s Club offers people the opportunity to own part of the Pier and to express an important message from your family.

Angler’s Club sponsorships cost $500 each and are red in color and shaped like a fish. Click here for more information.

Hours of Operation

May – August: 5 a.m. – midnight
April, Sept., Oct., Nov. 6 a.m. – midnight
December – March 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Jennette’s Pier in Nags Head
P.O. Box 1445
7223 So. Virginia Dare Trail

Oceanfront, Milepost 16.5 Beach Road
Nags Head, North Carolina 27959
“In the heart of Whalebone District”
GPS: 35.910 N, 75.596 W
For more, call 252-255-1501.

 


North Carolina Aquariums Map
<strong>Jennettes Pier</strong><br />Nags Head... Fishing, families and fun <strong>Roanoke Island</strong><br /> Explore… The Waters of the Outer Banks <strong>Pine Knoll Shores</strong><br /> Journey... From the Mountains to the Sea <strong>Fort Fisher</strong><br /> Discover... The Waters of the Cape Fear